Day Thirty-One. Full Face Paint.

April 17, 2011 § 2 Comments

On Day Thirty-One, I went to the 2011 Braves home opening game. I’ve done this plenty before, like every year since I’ve been with Patrick, so I had to think of something new to do at the game. Besides wearing a home made tee of course. I decided I would get a cute little “Braves” or “A” logo airbrushed on my cheek. Marc Crifasi had other ideas and proposed that he would pay to have my face airbrushed, but it would have to be the entire face, and he would get to choose the symbols on each cheek. I thought it could be fun.

Marc originally chose a cheerleader and a USA logo, neither of which I have a problem with, but neither of which really represents going to see an Atlanta Braves baseball to me (sorry, America). So he compromised and turned one into an A for the Atlanta Braves logo.

Patrick was not too thrilled with the whole idea. Actually, he was even slightly opposed to me even getting a small airbrushed token of my fan-ness. I figured he would find the whole episode amusing in a “laugh at Laura” way, but I kind of think he was genuinely embarrassed.

Walking around Turner Field as an adult with your entire face covered in airbrushed red and blue paint is strange. You don’t want to make eye contact with anyone, children or adults, but especially adults. You get comments like, “You must be a real fan” to “A little old for that, eh?” and looks that range from amusement to pity, and even fright. One mother brought her three year old daughter over to me as I sat in my seat and exclaimed, “Oh, look at her face!” I felt like a Circus Freak, here for your entertainment. As the girl turned her head toward me I stuck out my tongue and crossed my eyes, trying to make her laugh. I guess with the face paint she had quite a different reaction and turned back into her mother’s legs in fright. Patrick and Marc rolled out of their chairs with laughter. I had quite possibly made a small child cry.

In the end, the mocking and pity looks didn’t matter. The Braves won. Marc joked that I would have to get my face painted at every game I attended to continue the streak. I hope not. Besides, it was actually the home made fan shirt that gave them the luck.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Day Thirty-One. Full Face Paint.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day Thirty-One. Full Face Paint. at laura turning 30.

meta

