Day Thirty-Three. Couponing.

April 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

Day Thirty-Two (Great Urban Race) exhausted me and by the time I went to bed, I had what felt like a raging springtime cold. I woke up the next day and could barely get out of bed. No work, no kickball game. So on Day Thirty-Three, I had Patrick pick up a newspaper along with some cold medicine and I began clipping coupons.

There really isn’t that much in the newspaper coupon fliers that would give me a discount on things I regularly buy. I maybe cut out about ten pieces of paper on the dotted lines. Taking into consideration the two dollars spent on the actual paper, I don’t know if it is totally worth it.

I organized a mini file fold thing I had into different coupon categories and started filing them away. I felt so grown up. And then I went online to look for more coupons. I liked that I could select what I wanted and then print them. Some were the same as the ones in the newspaper, but I also went to brands I liked websites and printed some savings from them as well. It was almost fun.

The next day, feeling better, I went to the grocery store to see how much I could save. Even with double coupon deals, I saved only about eight bucks, and the Kroger plus card saved me ten. It all seemed like such a scam, but I did save eighteen bucks. I may not have needed everything I bought, but I didn’t pay full price.

I doubt I have the patience or stamina to become an extreme couponer, but I think I may continue clipping.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day Thirty-Three. Couponing. at laura turning 30.

meta

