Day Forty-One. Unexpected Cough Cure.

May 8, 2011 § 1 Comment

My cold was pretty much cleared up, but the lingering cough that usually follows was…well, lingering. A coworker of mine told me that slathering vapor rub on my feet before bed and covering them with thick socks would stop the cough. Whaaaa? It was too weird to pass up, so on Day Forty-One, I gave it a whirl.

The strange thing is, when I logged onto Facebook I saw a post from a friend of Patrick’s sister saying that putting Vicks Vapor Rub on childrens’ feet to stop a cough didn’t work. How had the forces of the universe combined to bring this up not once, but twice in one day? I commented that I was going to try it myself and she said to let her know how it went.

Well, it went ok. I certainly felt weird once I applied the surprisingly greasy substance to my soles and covered the mess with socks (2 pairs). I thought I could breathe easier, but it could have been the placebo effect or the fact that I was wearing one of my breathe right strips. And I didn’t cough at all in the night, but then, that wasn’t my problem. I cough during the day.

So, I think the feet covered in vapor rub thing may work if you can’t sleep and are coughing through the night, but it certainly doesn’t prevent a cough when you awake. And never having used vapor rub the way the directions instruct you, I can’t say if it has anything to do with feet at all.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Day Forty-One. Unexpected Cough Cure.

  • Avoid sugar and junk food. By loading up on junk food you are making your body weak and vulnerable to diseases. Have fresh fruits and vegetables so that your immune system is strong and prepared. Avoid sweet foods as well. It may irritate your tonsils and thus lead to coughing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day Forty-One. Unexpected Cough Cure. at laura turning 30.

meta

