Day Sixty-Five. The Birth of Mamooska Larooska.

June 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

In high school one of my classmates described to me the perfect, most romantic gift he had purchased for his girlfriend (according to him). He named a star after her. It seems like a total sham industry, but on a random whim I followed in Mr. Romantic’s footsteps and purchased a Groupon to name a star at half off. And on Day Sixty-Five, I named my very own ball of energy? millions of light years away.

I’m pretty terrible at naming things. I mean, look at my post titles pretty straightforward for the most part. My first dog was named Prissy. My softball nickname (we all picked one in the first season) is Jayne. My middle name. So needless to say, I had a hard time coming up with something memorable for this twinkling star so far away. I ended up naming my new pet Mamooska Larooska, a combination of the random nickname my dad uses for my mother and myself. Get it? Mom = Mamooska and Laura = Larooska. The name was unique enough that I didn’t think there would be another star with the same name, in case we ever needed to look it up in the star registry or something. Plus, Day Sixty-Five was around Mother’s Day, so I also thought this could be part of a belatedly sent package to my wonderful Mamooska. (Surprise, Mom!)

Our star is in the Pisces constellation, because I am under that astrological sign. Creative, right? I don’t think we’d ever be able to see the star, if it were even visible to earth. But it’s kind of cool to know it’s out there.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day Sixty-Five. The Birth of Mamooska Larooska. at laura turning 30.

meta

