Eighty-Nine. Homemade Apple Dumplings.

June 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

I Day Eighty-Nine, I decided to bake. Inspired by my friend Steven’s blog post about making apple fritters, I browsed the interwebs for various pie recipes and such. I chose to make apple dumplings, cutting out any attempt at frying.

I went to All Recipes to find a good how-to. I’ve never really made any kind of dessert from scratch (vegan coconut delight excluded) in my adult life, and the website really is full of down home country type good cooking. Lots of butter and shortening. I figured it would at least be a good start, and it wasn’t long before I found a recipe to suit my needs (it needed to be simple).

I peeled and cored the apples and put them in ice water to prevent browning. It took forever. I had a difficult time cutting out the core, and a couple of apples split.

Then I mixed the dough, which came together really well. I didn’t have a flour sifter, so I kind of sprinkled it into the shortening/milk/salt mixture and hoped for the best. It turned out very well, although the feeling of shortening on your hands is pretty gnarly.

Yeah, it says "Kiss the cook"

I rolled out my dough and cut squares for my pastry. I was only able to get four pieces out of the material (instead of six); it turned out that I had rolled my pastry too thick. I only put a half apple in each dumpling (a whole apple is pretty big), sprinkled it with the magic of sugar and cinnamon, and pinched the pastries at the top. I topped them off with the sugary cooked mixture I had made earlier and popped the suckers into the oven. Thirty-five minutes later they were done.

The dessert was tasty, especially with the salted caramel ice cream from Morelli’s and a touch of honey (Patrick’s idea). Even if the dough was a bit thick and the apple a bit small; they really do shrink.

The only downfall to the dessert was the aftermath. I added all of the apple peels and cores to our kitchen waste container on the back porch which is eventually added to the compost bin. Well, with the screen door left open during the night, a curious raccoon managed to come onto the porch and knock over a chair, fan, and the container. Coffee grounds and egg shells and apple peels poured onto the table and floor. The monster only took the apple peels. I bet he would have loved a taste of the dumplings I had made!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eighty-Nine. Homemade Apple Dumplings. at laura turning 30.

meta

