Ninety-Three. Card Carrying Member.

June 24, 2011 § 3 Comments

Growing up, I loved going to the library. I would check out near the maximum amount of material and be back a couple days later to re-up. In college I used the GSU library mostly for research in some subjects, and occasionally for naps between classes. But most of my reading was relegated to the purchased textbooks of each course. And I think having to buy all of those books for college created a book collector out of me. Now I have them color coordinated on my shelves and stored in boxes at my parents’ house. On Day Ninety-Two, I took a step in the more affordable direction; I joined the public library, on my own, without being a student or having my mom’s name on the card next to mine.

I walked into the East Atlanta branch of the Atlanta Public Library ready with my application pre-printed and filled out. I waited for a patron to check out a slew of DVDs (you can check out movies?!?), and a few minutes later was browsing the books, new library card in hand.

Walking around made me realize how I had forgotten the Dewey Decimal system of categorizing. I wasn’t looking for anything in particular, just browsing the spines, opening a book to be hit with that very particular library book smell that brought me back to my childhood. While I was wallowing in nostalgia, the front desk clerk announced that the branch would be closing soon. I grabbed a mystery novel set in London 1905 (I like Edwardian) and made my way out. If it’s good, maybe I’ll buy it.

It wasn’t all that good.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Ninety-Three. Card Carrying Member.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ninety-Three. Card Carrying Member. at laura turning 30.

meta

