One Hundred Twelve. Homeopathy.

July 23, 2011 § 2 Comments

On Day One Eleven, besides almost hiking up Crowders Mountain and smoking a plank of salmon, I went with my parents to breakfast. Next to the diner where we ate was a hippie grocery store, kind of like Sevenanda in Atlanta (where I found my ear candles). My mom was interested in what the shop had to offer, so we headed in to browse.

I ended up on the homeopathic remedies aisle, checking out strange tablets and sprays and drops to cure things from stress to being overweight to bad moods to acne. I was enthralled and spent about twenty minutes examining each bottle. I had a roommate before who had a shoebox full of such remedies and suggested I take one to prevent a cold I felt coming on. I never took her up on the offer, mainly because she was always the one stuck in bed feeling sick (not to mention she led a healthier lifestyle than mine). But I decided to purchase a couple of items, partly because I thought it could be a new activity some day in the future. And on Day One Hundred Twelve I pulled out one of the magic pill bottles to fight off some crazy muscle ache, probably a result of my forays into the driving range, second golf lesson, and playing nine holes.

The small blue container holding many little white beads held arcina montana, a remedy to combat “muscle aches and stiffness, swelling from injuries, discoloration from bruising.” I twisted the top of the bottle five times to allow five little pellets come down into the cap. The instructions said to let five of these little beads dissolve under your tongue. They tasted like sugar, and nothing else.

I don’t know if it was the placebo effect or if there was something to this homeopathic stuff, but I did feel like I had less muscle stiffness. I can’t wait to try the Wild Oat drops I also purchased. That one “helps you to determine what to do with your life, when you are undecided about which path to take.” Or I could just flip a coin.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to One Hundred Twelve. Homeopathy.

  • Rob Stokes says:

    Definitely placebo I’m afraid. The reason it tasted of sugar was because that’s all that’s left. The 30C refers to the fact that it is diluted by 1 drop in 100, 30 times. That equates to 1 drop in 1,000,000,000,000,000,000, 000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000. It’s utter nonsense and unfortunately many people go for homeopathic treatments over seeing a doctor or taking proven medication. It’s worth doing a little reading into homeopathy as it’s slowly being exposed for the fraud it is. Dr Ben Goldacre (a doctor and science writer, with a weekly column in the Guardian newspaper) is a good place to start (http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2007/nov/16/sciencenews.g2). Once you look at the science it becomes quite apparent that a placebo is just as effective.

  • […] say that I felt much of anything. I don’t even know if I expected to in the first place. Like the homeopathic drops of high hopes or the oxygen chamber, maybe this bottled fermented tea acted more as a placebo. Or maybe rehealing […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One Hundred Twelve. Homeopathy. at laura turning 30.

meta

