Witches and Warlocks at Midnight (128th new thing).

August 11, 2011 § 1 Comment

The final installment of the Harry Potter movies arrived in movie theaters on Day One Twenty-Eight. Well, at midnight actually, but I arrived at the theater on the appropriate day (for strict rule-adherence).

I’d been to a couple midnight screenings before, but never Harry Potter. For awhile I was able to see the films before their release, through working for a movie publicity and promotions firm who boasted Warner Bros. as a client. But seeing the saga on the big screen with a full audience of super fans was a new exhilarating experience.

My friend Erin had an extra ticket, since her husband was eager enough to pass on the experience. And for that, thank you Tyler. We arrived at the movieplex two hours before the film began and were able to enter the theater immediately. I passed through several teenagers dressed as Hogwarts students and employees donning Harry Potter style glasses. There were countless cloaks and witch hats and even a few super fans who dressed as specific characters. Mad Eye Moody, Professor McGonagall, and the like. Several young girls boasted home made t-shirts with slogans like “Mrs. Malfoy” or “I’ve been with Harry since the beginning.” I felt under dressed in my jeans and sweater ensemble. before the movie even began a couple of boys took over the walkway between theater seat tiers and pretended to shoot spells at each other across the room. One dramatically collapsed at the avada kedavra killing curse to applause from the audience.

The movie began right on time, to a smattering of cheers and clapping. It took me a moment to get used to the 3-D glasses. I have to admit, I am not a fan of the 3-D movie going experience. I’ve only watched a few films in this fashion, but usually I end up with a slight headache caused by a small distracting glare reflected on the inside of the glasses. I think I still enjoy the 2-D experience, and kind of hope this whole phenomenon will silently go away.

The movie itself was the fantastic spectacle expected. Although I love the Harry Potter books more, the films do not disappoint. And since this isn’t really a review of the movie, I’ll leave it at that.

Of course there was applause at the finale as the credits rolled. I wiped the tears (yes, I cried) from my eyes and headed out with Erin and her friends. I was able to see even more fans on the way out, children and adults alike loitering in the theater lobby in their home made t-shirts excitedly recapping their midnight HP7.5 experience. Their enthusiasm was contagious, and I left the cinema with a silly grin on my face.

I’m sad that the Harry Potter movie era is over, but there’s so many more similar series to look forward to. Hello, Hunger Games?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Witches and Warlocks at Midnight (128th new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Witches and Warlocks at Midnight (128th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

