Reading and reading and reading some more (132nd new thing).

August 12, 2011 § 1 Comment

I become somewhat obsessive about certain things and habits. I mainly speak of leisurely pursuits, things I do in my spare time, and possibly foods or meals. For example, I may eat hummus as a snack every day for a couple weeks and then just go off it randomly. Or if I start watching a TV series, I will watch episode after episode until five seasons are completed. On Day One Hundred Thirty-Two I was in the midst of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. I had kept up with daily new activities well enough, but had neglected to write very many blogs. I suddenly found myself three weeks behind in posting. All I wanted to do was read those damned books. I gave in to the urge completely on Day 132 and devoted the entire day to finishing the fourth novel, A Feast for Crows (for the first time). About 500 pages of reading. And then I could focus more on blogging and hopefully not stay so far behind.

I read almost uninterrupted for several hours, shifting or changing chairs when the positioning became uncomfortable. By about 4pm I still had hundreds of pages left. If I didn’t finish the book, could this still count as a new activity? I divided the remaining pages into the number of minutes left in my day and figured it would be cutting it close. But I was determined.

Right before midnight I finally completed the story. I was relieved and pleased, able to go to sleep happy,  Arya Stark floating through my dreams. I also vowed to take more time going through the fifth book, because reading all day to finish it would never again be a new activity.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Reading and reading and reading some more (132nd new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading and reading and reading some more (132nd new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

