Is that egg on my face? (138th new thing)

August 16, 2011 § 3 Comments

There are many things you can make with common household products from window cleaners to body scrubs. On Day One Hundred Thirty-Eight I made a pore-cleansing face mask. Out of an egg. Well, more precisely, an egg white.

I looked through several different methods of combining basic household staples to tighten pores and smooth skin. Some were as simple as an egg white and lemon juice. Others involved yogurt and oatmeal. One even (and I kid you not) called for cat litter. Fortunately for me I don’t have any cats, so that option was out. I settled on the basic egg white recipe, with a couple added ingredients for pizzazz.

Beat 1 egg white to thick foam and add ½ tsp of honey, ½ tsp of fresh milk and ½ tsp of lemon juice. Mix well and add a little bit of flour to make it thicker. Apply to the face and keep on for 20 min. Wash off facial mask with cool water without soap.

I think another first for me was to beat an egg. I don’t own an electric egg beater, nor one of those wind up ones. I have never made a meringue.  It was just a whisk and a strong right forearm that made this egg foam. And it took forever. Like two hours. No, I kid, but it sure felt like it took that long.

I beat the egg and added the honey, lemon, milk, and a little flour, and then a little more flour, until a paste formed in the bowl. Then I leaned over the sink and scooped the concoction on to my cheeks, nose, and forehead. It kind of dripped down my chin and I wiped away the excess.

After twenty minutes I headed back into the bathroom to rinse it all off. No soap, just like the directions. And you know what? My skin did feel smoother, younger, with smaller pores. I actually had a compliment about my skin the next day. Who knew something so common could possibly work.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Is that egg on my face? (138th new thing)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Is that egg on my face? (138th new thing) at laura turning 30.

meta

