Bon Iver in Cobb County (142nd new thing).

August 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

Day One Hundred Forty-One found me headed to the Cobb Energy Center at the junction of I-85 and I-285 to see Bon Iver for the first time, with the Rosebuds opening up for them. It was my second show in a row, and second 2000+ person amphitheater at that. These circumstances really don’t happen very often.

Patrick and I met at the box office and headed into the opera house-meets-theater venue. There really are no bad seats at the Cobb Energy Center, but ours were especially appealing. Seated right behind the rail dividing the lower level orchestra seating from the next height, we had no tall people or standers in front of us to block our view. The acoustics were pretty great- a big warm sound, especially as the headliner played.

The Rosebuds

We had seen the Rosebuds at The EARL a month or so earlier, and I have to say that I prefer the band on a smaller, more intimate stage. Patrick and I had the fortune of being in Barcelona several years ago at the same time as a Rosebuds tour. We went to their show followed by a disco filled dance club experience. That was my favorite time seeing them, but I’ve never had a bad experience. Their energy is contagious.

Bon Iver

Bon Iver filled the room with sweet voices and instruments. I had only really listened to the For Emma, Forever album and enjoyed it immensely. I was able to hear a lot more than just those few songs during the show. The array of instruments and sound really gelled well with the acoustics of the venue.

Patrick and I left shortly before the encore as both of us had long days and early starts the following morning. Even if I didn’t get to see the entire performance, I surely enjoyed myself. Although I woudn’t want to drive out to Cobb often, the venue is great to see bands as a random treat.

– Show quoted text –
Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bon Iver in Cobb County (142nd new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

