Chicken Sausage Meatball Sandwich (146th new thing).

August 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

Driving down Moreland Ave, I often pass the relatively new eatery, Delia’s Chicken Sausage Stand. It looked like some crazy colorful hipster joint, but I had no idea what kind of food the stand served. Well, I assumed chicken. Duh. But was it biscuits, links, patties? I had no idea. I was thinking it would be an assortment of chicken biscuits, considering it was opened by Delia Champion, the founder of the Flying Biscuit. Well, I found out on Day One Hundred Forty-Six, when Patrick and I headed there for lunch, and for the first time I had both a chicken meatball and a meatball sub.

We headed into the small shop and checked out the menu printed large on the wall. It was overwhelming, and I was hungry. I settled on the Grinder, a more popular menu item according to the nice lady behind the counter. And I got a frozen raspberry lemonade, just cause.

I sipped my frozen delight while we waited for our food. I definitely got a brain freeze, but the drink was so deliciously sweet that I didn’t mind too much. Within a couple minutes the paper bag of lunch was handed to us, and we headed back to the house to consume our slingers.

My meatball sandwich was a huge mess of marinara, giant spicy chicken meatballs, basil, and mozzarella. I stared at it for a moment, trying to decide how to attack such a monster. The meatballs were over three inches in diameter. Would my mouth even open wide enough? I was about to find out.

I took a giant bite and wiped some marinara from my chin. The chicken meatball was pretty good. It had a kick to it (according to my bland palate), and went well with the sauce and cheese. I’d only ever had meatballs on pasta before, but consider me a convert now. I was only able to get through about half of the sandwich before I felt my gut bulging with chicken sausage and frozen raspberry lemonade, so I boxed up the rest for Patrick to snack on later (I’m weird about leftovers, especially sandwiches). I enjoyed my lunch, and I think Patrick did as well. Maybe next time I will try a link sausage. My stomach is growling just thinking about it.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chicken Sausage Meatball Sandwich (146th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

