Attack of the Canadian Geese (164th new thing).

September 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

I had been slacking on my Couch to 5k program. Working twelve hour days really doesn’t leave enough time to go for a jog. So on Day One Hundred Sixty-Four I brought along a bag of gym clothes and decided I would rejoin the program by running at Shorty Howell Park in Duluth, just a few minutes from work.

I had only to this point run around the neighborhood, and the kick-off workout on the beach. The former is quite hilly, but I know the terrain well enough to remember when to conserve energy for the steep slopes. The latter was pretty much flat and easy. I didn’t know what to expect from this brand new park running experience.

I began the five minute warm-up walk down the hill by a picturesque pond, side stepping around huge piles of bird excrement. The body of water is home to dozens of Canadian geese and ducks who had crapped everywhere. It was merely a nuiscence until I came across a family of people feeding the overgrown birds. On my path.

I’m not a great fan of geese. In high school we lived in a neighborhood with one of those “lakes” built into the neighborhood. In that pond lived an evil Canadian goose. My mom christened him “Sid Vicious,” not because of his rock n roll tendancies, but more because he would swoop down and attack unsuspecting children. My brother was once nailed in the hip in a fly-by and the bird dive bombed me once or twice while I was rowing on the water. Eventually animal control saved the young neighborhood kids by capturing it and taking it somewhere else (heaven perhaps?), but the fear caused by the sight of a giant bird heading straight towards you has stayed with me. Watching Hitchock’s The Birds as a kid didn’t help either.

So I was trying to weave around the flock of geese and simultaneously avoid their droppings when a few of the winged beasts come at me. I mean, they probably were just seeing if I had bread, but you never know, so I yelped and steered as far away from them as possible while the family feeding them laughed. It was embarrassing, but I wasn’t taking any chances. I jogged on peacefully, but never returned to that side of the park.

I wasn’t taking any chances. And while the run was nice enough, I will probably avoid that park from now on, at least the area by the pond.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Attack of the Canadian Geese (164th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

