Grasshopper Pie (181st new thing).

October 8, 2011 § 1 Comment

Patrick’s mom makes yummy desserts, and by far my favorite is her Grasshopper Pie. I enjoy mint flavored ice cream and oreos, so really, what’s not to love? On Day One Hundred Eighty-One I put on my chef hat and recreated the tasty pie for Patrick’s birthday.

Dreamy Pie

I didn’t follow a recipe; I just kind of went by what ingredients Mrs. Hill had told me were in the dessert. A tub of vanilla ice cream, melted a little and mixed with some green food coloring and peppermint extract, layered on a crust of crushed oreos and butter mixed together. At first I thought I had added too much coloring, and I had a flashback of drinking a green beer with a similar mistake. Then I thought I had added too much peppermint, but it turns out I just hadn’t mixed it all in properly with the ice cream.

The most difficult part was smushing the oreos. I tried it by hand, with the blade of a knife, and finally stuffed the cookies into a mixer. The last tool worked the best. I layered the cookies into a pie dish with the melted butter and dumped the green ice cream on top, garnishing with some more oreo crumbs.

It must have been pretty good because we’d eaten it all by the end of the next day.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Grasshopper Pie (181st new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grasshopper Pie (181st new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

