The Gin Blossoms Radio Station isn’t as good as I hoped (187th new thing).

October 11, 2011 § 2 Comments

On Patrick’s birthday we went out to a local bar for some food, drinks, and friends. One of our friends is an architect and regaled us with funny stories about the music that pipes through his office via someone’s Pandora account. Apparently his workmates aren’t as fond of his music selection (more indie rock) and prefer easy on the ears mid-nineties tunes. The crowd pleaser he used as an example was the Gin Blossoms radio station. He listed a few bands and songs that popped up as the rest of us made suggestions to what would be on that playlist, many which were spot on. And you know what? I knew all of those songs. And most of the lyrics. It was prime high school radio listening reminiscence for me, that key time where I was influenced enough by a catchy tune to buy an entire CD of the artist. Specifically, I include the examples of Deep Blue Something’s “Breakfast at Tiffany’s,” Del Amitri’s “Roll to Me,” and any artist from the Friends’ soundtrack. Embarrassing now, but I was hot stuff in my own fourteen-year-old mind.

So on Day One Hundred Eighty-Seven I decided to (finally) join Pandora and see what it was all about. I downloaded the app on my phone and tested it out on my forty minute drive home from work. I began with a search for my all-time favorite band: Pulp. It began with “Common People” and then played another Pulp classic before switching it up with some Morissey and Joy Division. All pretty good, so after the band’s live version ofMile End” I tried a new search. I would try out the much mocked Gin Blossoms radio.

Pulp

I nodded along with “Til I Hear it from You” and other similarly mundane tracks until my curiosity got the best of me and I fast-forwarded. Third Eye Blind. Skip. I was looking for some “Breakfast at Tiffany’s,” already humming the song in the back of my head. Alas, I skipped too many titles and was stuck on yet another Third Eye Blind song. So much for that station.

For the remainder of my commute I listened to Yacht radio. There are a couple of the group’s tracks on the awesome Chirp seasonal mixed tapes, and I had enjoyed all I had heard so far. And you know, it was exactly what I wanted on my drive home. Dancey indie pop with a catchy beat.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Gin Blossoms Radio Station isn’t as good as I hoped (187th new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Gin Blossoms Radio Station isn’t as good as I hoped (187th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

