PJ20 (196th new thing).

November 2, 2011 § 1 Comment

Growing up, I was never really into Pearl Jam. By the time they were really big and I started forming a taste in music (that didn’t revolve around Casey Kasem’s Top 40), I turned to Britpop instead of Grunge or Alternative. So when Patrick told me we were going to see a one day only screening of the new Pearl Jam documentary with a few friends on Day One Hundred Ninety-Six, I didn’t really know what to expect.

Early Eddie

 

I didn’t expect a massive line wrapped around the courtyard in front of the theater. I had sudden flashbacks to a past job in movie promotions. I was usually the one dealing with the “movie pigs” who would see anything for free and were increasingly belligerent as my time in the position expanded. But these weren’t them at all. Everyone here had paid, and were genuinely interested in seeing a documentary on a huge nineties band, a film which a couple weeks later would be playing for free on PBS.

We all met up for a drink and snack at Apres Diem and headed into the theater. The film was playing in two theaters and I walked from one to the other, looking for five seats in a group. I found them and became the designated seat-saver. But of course, this wasn’t a pre-release free screening, and everyone was nice. The theater wasn’t even completely full.

The movie itself was pretty awesome. Patrick may have even cried a little. I, who has never really listened to Pearl Jam, got a little watery-eyed at some point. It was actually a great evening spent with great people watching a great movie.

And now I need to go find a plaid flannel shirt.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to PJ20 (196th new thing).

  • I am so very jealous. I am a HUGE Pearl Jam fan. I have not seen PJ20 yet 😦 Their concert was where my husband was going to propose to me but then didn’t til 2 days later. One of their songs was our first dance at our wedding (Just Breathe). Eddie Vedder is truly one of the nicest most sincere men in music. I have had a long time love of the band dating back to early high school and have followed their whole career. Unfortunately PJ20 wasn’t playing near us.

    I will tell you that when I was in high school that bad thing happened to me. You have read my blog and know what I am referring to I believe. The song Black by Pearl Jam helped me through it. I don’t know why that was my song that I connected with but to this day if I am feeling upset or flashing back, that song helps me deal. Also the song Indifference. Daughter makes me think of my mother. Disident is also one…actually everything from Ten, Versus, Vitalogy and well most every album they have done have been anthems to one point in time in my life. I have thought about getting the “Alive” stick figure as a tattoo. Like Eddie, my step father raised me (even adopted me) and I met my biological father in my teen years. Now I had known mine when I was very young and met mine at 16 not 13…but that song always gets to me. Release makes me cry. I could go on and on.

    I will say simply this. Pearl Jam is one of the most influential bands in my life and I honestly do not know if I would be here today if I had not had their music to help me out of the darkest of places.

    I am so glad you got to see PJ20. I can’t wait to see it myself.

    Love and light,

    Lucky

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading PJ20 (196th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

