Jeans + Leggings (213th new thing).

December 2, 2011 § 2 Comments

Last Christmas my mom told me she wanted a pair of jeggings. While the name of the pant is pretty self-explanatory, I still looked at her dumbfounded. “Huh?” I replied. “You know, jean leggings.” What a stupid idea. And then on Day Two Hundred Thirteen I myself became the owner of a pair of jeggings, the most absurdly named leg coverings since parachute pants.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I do love a good pair of skinny jeans worn with boots, but I’m about the furthest you could ever come from the fashion police. My style is out of date by at least two years, and I gravitate more towards solid color separates than anything considered fashionable. Which is probably why I bought jeggings on sale at a discount department store at least a year after my own mother professed her desire for wearing the pants.

My problem with jeggings is not the fact that they are leggings made of denim, but rather how they fit my body type. I have been blessed with the “barrel-on-pins” physique of my grandmother (normal hips/wide waist/skinny ankles) and frankly skinny jeans make me look like a Cathy cartoon. You know, hips that taper down to a point at the ankle. So whenever I have had the displeasure of going jeans shopping and thinking maybe, this time I will find a pair of the tight pants that look normal on me, I am disappointed. But on Day 213 I decided to make the purchase. First of all because the garmet wasn’t so low-cut that I won the muffin-top award and I showed butt-cleavage. Second of all because they really did look good with my newly-soled boots.

I don’t know if my mom ever got a pair of jeggings for herself, but I can guarantee with her looooong legs and lack of the Scott family bubble butt, they’d probably look good on her.

So I am a jeggings wearer now. I just have to hope stirrup pants aren’t the next resurgence of legging-style legwear because I think that is one design I will have to unconditionally avoid.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Jeans + Leggings (213th new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jeans + Leggings (213th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

