I can do anything (222nd new thing).

December 12, 2011 § 1 Comment

On Day (or rather evening) Two Hundred Twenty-Two, I had one of those drunken revelations that I could do anything. Not like an, “I-can-do-anything-because-I-am-delusional” moment, but rather my eyes were just opened to career possibilities other than the path I was on. When you have been given enough positive reinforcement and compliments about your work that you really do believe the world is your oyster. I always enjoy reflecting on these moments in hind sight. While the possibilities of what “could be” did (and still do) exist, I was also able to realize my limitations in the present day and sort through all the crap that was partly the whiskey and mostly my need to be encouraged. I am a Pisces afterall.

There was a point in my life where I was in a bad job situation. I was working in an office doing movie PR with one other person, my boss. We didn’t think alike, and she, although very good at her job, was kind of set in her way of thought. I felt stifled, bored, unfulfilled, and was generally depressed as a result. So epiphanies such as the one that happened late on the evening of Day Two Hundred Twenty-Two are always welcome as an alternative to the former job.

So the resounding new experience that day was to realize that, should I want to, I could probably sustain myself working freelance full-time. I’m not jumping into that boat of “Where’s my next paycheck coming from?” anytime soon, but it’s nice to have those moments where you understand that you could totally support yourself working for yourself. And I still feel that way. Maybe I’m finally “growing up” in my own way.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to I can do anything (222nd new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I can do anything (222nd new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

