An Intentionally Lonely Holiday (261st new thing).

January 24, 2012 § 1 Comment

For the first time in several years, I actually had Thanksgiving Day off from work. A 24 hour TV shopping network does not shut down for Turkey Day. Patrick invited me to Columbia with his family, and my aunt asked me to join them to celebrate, but frankly I was exhausted and figured I could use a period of quiet home life, all alone. For the first time, on Day Two Hundred Sixty-One, I spent Thanksgiving all by myself.

It was actually quite a relaxing day. I watched movies and reclined on the couch with Murphy all day. I talked to my family and Patrick’s family, and realized how thankful I am for such relationships.

I wasn’t planning on eating any Turkey, but in the evening I headed to the EARL to drop off a key for Damon where I was hooked up with a heaping to go portion of turkey dinner. Between that dig and the leftovers Patrick brought home to me, I ate a couple of wonderful meals.

So perhaps I didn’t miss out on Thanksgiving after all.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to An Intentionally Lonely Holiday (261st new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Intentionally Lonely Holiday (261st new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

