Book Art (264th new thing).

January 27, 2012 § 1 Comment

My coworker Jeremiah showed me someone’s Etsy store where you could purchase art printed on written words, images pasted over the pages of a novel, dictionary, or any other text-filled book. He asked if we could feasibly copy the idea, and on Day Two Hundred Sixty-Four I took the challenge, and decided to create my own printed book art.

I had a dictionary I had purchased from a thrift store waiting for such a craft. Actually, I bought it with the thought of turning it into a purse, but since I had yet to tear out all the pages, the book found its new purpose.

I carefully sliced out a few pages. I have been collecting Dover publications free clip art for awhile, so I had a plethora of images to print on the paper. I chose a colorful image of a butterfly and decided I would add it to the page which included the “butterfly” definition. Next I headed to my color printer to create the art.

The only problem I encountered was choosing the right kind of paper in the printer settings. There is no option for the almost tissue paper like consistency of  the dictionary pages. I ended up taping the pages carefully to a normal piece of printer paper and feeding it through the machine in that manner. I’ve heard you can also use re-mountable adhesive or even a glue stick. For every good looking print, I ended up with a couple of very smudged ones.

I left the butterfly image as it was and used a decoupage technique of a bird image to mount the paper to a small frame. It actually turned out pretty well, so someone may be getting it for Christmas!

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Book Art (264th new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Art (264th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

