Neck Warmer (267th new thing).

January 27, 2012 § 1 Comment

It was time to begin making Christmas gifts. I found this easy-enough looking tutorial from Craft Magazine on crocheting a circle, or infinity, scarf and figured it could be a great gift for either me or someone else. On Day Two Hundred Sixty-Seven, I attempted the art of crochet.

The first part I had trouble with was making the simple slipknot. My Girl SCout troop spent more time playing dress-up in our mothers’ clothing than learning survival skills, so it took a few attempts before I had successfully managed the basic loop. I had to watch the video a few times to get started.

Once I had the hang of the basic crochet move, I soared through the first chain. I ended up with 120 loops. During the next step of adding the second row of stitches I manage to twist the chains completely. I didn’t realize this until I was halfway through making the scarf. I thought perhaps I would have the perfect number of twists where the infinity scarf would lay perfectly against my neck, but that was a false hope. It ended up being a bit of a twisted mess.

A scarf AND head warmer.

Fortunately, my second (and third and fourth) circle scarves turned out better. I even improved my time. I made them for my mom, aunts, cousins, friends, Patrick’s family, and even a couple for myself. By the time January came around, I had whipped out more than a dozen of these neck warmers. I may have shocking wrist pains every time I see a fat crochet hook, but at least I’ve done my part in keeping necks warm across the globe.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Neck Warmer (267th new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Neck Warmer (267th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

