Cow Got Your Tongue? (277th new thing).

January 31, 2012 § Leave a comment

Patrick and I met up with a few friends for dinner at Holy Taco on Day Two Hundred Seventy-Seven and I knew that my new experience was bound to be, once again, food related. The restaurant’s taco menu includes many proteins I have never even considered tasting (chicken hearts, cow tongue), so I knew I could find something to try.

I chose tongue, purely based on a memory of being an extremely picky child. Years ago I had gone to the downtown Northampton shops with my grandfather. He picked up some lunch meat for dinner, tongue for him and turkey for me. I thought his selection was disgusting. In fact, being the extremely finicky preteen that I was, I wouldn’t even eat my turkey; I swore it had brushed against the cow tongue while the food was being carried home. I could see faint traces of scale-like filaments on my deli meat.

I thought eating tongue could somehow make up for a childhood of eating mostly hot dogs and grilled cheese sandwiches.

Before my meal arrived I decided I would try something else new and selected a fancy tequila to sip on as an appertif. The waitress suggested a medium colored “Dos Manos” tequila and I took her advice. The amber liquid arrived in a small glass,  a wedge of  lime on a toothpick accompanying it.

Not knowing what to expect from a sipping tequila (I’ve barely even taken shots of the liquor), I scrunched up my nose and braced for the worst. It wasn’t the smoothest alcohol I’d ever drank, but I did enjoy the warm glow that expanded down my throat.

When my dinner arrived I kind of just stared at it for a moment, the memory of my grandfather’s scaly meat causing my stomach to churn.Steeling my reserve, I channeled my inner Anthony Bourdain, and took a tepid bite.

It was surprisingly tender. The texture reminded me of stewed pork and the taco garnish complimented the protein nicely. I could see why the tongue was listed at the top of the list on the menu.

I wasn’t bold enough to try the chicken hearts on this outing, but maybe I can taste it next time.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cow Got Your Tongue? (277th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

