Reality Stars (283rd new thing).

February 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

My parents love The Amazing Race. In the summer of its first season I was traveling in Europe, but I came home to find Sunday nights filled with the suspense of who would be eliminated from the race next. My dad casually mentioned that he thought we could participate in the journey together, but I never saw how he could complete the activities involving small cramped spaces or heights. Besides, I would fail miserably at trying anything that involved eating a foreign food with a disgustingly unpleasant texture. We never sent in our audition tape, but when I saw a call for entries into a cross country rally race sponsored by Ford Escape (which I had now driven), I emailed him to see if he still had ideas of being a sort of reality TV star. He said sure, so on Day Two Hundred Eighty-Three I entered us via email.

The ol, "Hold the camera out with your arms" trick.

The entry form asked us to email in our names, ages, location, and all social media links. Facebook, YouTube, Flickr, Blog, Twitter. I had one of each, but my dad…he had an email address, albeit a work one. Then I wrote a little blurb about why we would be good for the race, which was basically a marketing vehicle (vehicle….Ford Escape…har har).

Hello, Awkward Family Photos?

I wrote a fairly brief paragraph, attached a few pictures (featured in this post), and sent off the email.

Two days later I received a canned reply inviting me to Google chat (sponsor?) with the casting team. They suggested I also invite other friends and family members to the chat so that they could find the “best fit.” I got the hint. Dad wasn’t social media savvy enough.

I didn’t reply.

And I also didn’t attend the Atlanta casting call a few weeks later with my VIP, skip the line printout. Because really, who would want to be an internet reality star by pimping out a car and clogging the Twitterverse with entries on how cool it was?

My favorite Dad and Murphy photo.

Not me, and I guess not my dad either. He’s not even on Twitter.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reality Stars (283rd new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

