The Best Way to Spread Christmas Cheer is Singing Loud for All to Hear (288th new thing).

February 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

I don’t own any Christmas albums, not even any cheeky or cheesy holiday classics by Bing Crosby or Adam Sandler’s “Hanukkah Song.” I’m pretty sure he only time I listen to the seasonal tunes is at my parents’ house when my mom insists we have a soundtrack to our festivities. Maybe in the mall as well should I ever be forced to fight the crowds for last-minute shopping. So on Day Two Hundred Eighty-Eight I decided to enhance my Christmas spirit by listening to holiday songs played continuously on a local fm radio station. I also bought a Christmas song on iTunes: “Merry Christmas Everyone” by Shakin Stevens, a real English classic that reminds me of my cousin’s school recital nearly ten years ago.

I realized that my taste in holiday tunes definitely trends towards the classics I listened to as a kid. Wham!’s “Last Christmas” brought a smile to my face as did Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas is You.” I almost changed the station during the second airing of a Mannheim Steamroller song, but I was glad I didn’t when David Bowie and Bing Crosby’s “Little Drummer Boy” came on.

The music made me cheerful and filled with holiday spirit. I curled up next to my still bare Tree and for the first time in years, it really felt like Christmas time. It probably helped that I was bawling my way through Elf.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Best Way to Spread Christmas Cheer is Singing Loud for All to Hear (288th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

