Sandy (293rd new thing).

February 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

Brad broke my our balance board on Christmas Day. Apparently the half inch wood couldn’t hold his 6 ft 4 frame. So I cajoled him into heading to the hardware store the next day to buy replacement parts and build a new, sturdier machine. This time he had me do all the sanding, so on Day Two Hundred Ninety-Three I used a belt sander for the first time.

It’s a pretty powerful machine. He made sure to let me know to turn it on before I joined it to the wood and after I began I could see why. It shot across the slab of wood clamped down to the table.

After I had finished sanding with the roughest grit, I switched to the smaller handheld sander and followed the process I had seen my brother adhere to on the creation of our first balance board. Eight different sanding pads later and my new board was as smooth as silk.

Hopefully this one won’t snap in half.

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sandy (293rd new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

