A Dabble in Statistics (301st new thing).

March 7, 2012 § Leave a comment

Day Three Hundred One arrived right after 2012, and for the first time I stepped back and reflected on what I had accomplished thus far.

Honestly, after the first month or so, doing something new everyday became just another part of my day. Sure I woke up each morning with the thought of a new experience in the forefront of my mind, and often went to bed each night planning the following day’s activity. Some days were much more difficult than others. If I am incredibly busy or going through a period of apathy or laziness, I often struggle to find an exciting new activity. Thus I may have accomplished something lame (changing my windshield washer fluid), circumstantial (massage a muppet), or resort to eating something new (like Coconut water).

I feel like food has factored a large part in my new experiences. I did a little statistical analysis and the results are interesting. Out of my previous three hundred activities, sixty-six involved consumption of some sort. That’s 22%. And of those, 16 of those ingestions were liquid (though not all alcoholic). Which means that 24% of my activities pertaining to trying a new flavor involved drinking. I’ve eaten three different new burgers so far: The Big Mac, Ghetto Burger, and Yeah! Burger. I get hungry just thinking about it.

I’ve also made a lot of new things. Thirty-eight new crafts to be exact, or 12.7% of my activities thus far. I spent over a month being crafty, and that makes me happy. Faceting a gemstone and carving a linocut are two crafts that I am especially proud of, although I also have a special place in my heart for any hand made gifts I created with friends and family in mind. The holidays were practically a daily test of crafting skills.

I’ve learned a lot so far, from how to create certain things (crochet!), what I like (or do not like), and most importantly, how to do normally shared activities alone. I saw a play by myself, attended a gun class solo, and even joined the circus without any comrades to back me up. Although there is much to be added in sharing new activities with friends and family, facing the fear of being alone in a new situation is thrilling in itself. I learned that I don’t have to wait around for someone else to want to try something. I’ve come to look forward to my solitary moments, whether they be reading on the back porch without distraction or shooting a loaded weapon amongst a bunch of strangers.

From Day Three Hundred One I’ve taken away the gratitude of reflecting upon past accomplishments, and looking forward to those to come. Sixty-Five days remain before I turn thirty, and I can’t wait!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Dabble in Statistics (301st new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

