My Old Houses (302nd new thing).

March 14, 2012 § 1 Comment

One of the activities that has been on my list since day one of this project was to visit the house I grew up in, from ages 3-11. It sits not too far from where I work and I wanted to see if the proportions were as spacious as I remember. I almost went once before, but the thought crossed my mind that knocking on a stranger’s door and asking to look around their house may not be the safest of plans. I envisioned myself wandering into some strange suburban drug lair and being sold into sexual slavery. I have a vivid imagination.

But on Day Three Hundred Two I pushed my fears to the back of my mind and drove the ten miles from work at three in the afternoon. I passed by my old elementary school with it’s barn-like gym still intact and all but missed the turn into my former neighborhood. As I drove with houses of past friends lining the streets I became nostalgic. That’s where Freddie with the pool and golf cart lived! That’s Celeste’s house! I got bit by a Rottweiler behind Andy Cochran’s house right there

I spent so much time reminiscing that I nearly drove right by my former residence. To be fair, the road seems a lot shorter nearly twenty years later.

The house itself had the same coat of paint my parents had applied more than a decade earlier. The windows were all covered with a combination of curtains and black trash bags. A beat up old Chrysler sat in the driveway. In the back of my mind, I hoped no one would be home. I wouldn’t know how to introduce myself. “Hi, I’m Laura and my parents built this house more than twenty-five years ago. Can I invade your private space and look around?” My introduction did not sound good.

It turned out no one was actually home. Or at least they didn’t answer the door. But I had brought an old photograph of the house and climbed carefully on the lawn across the street to take a Dear Photograph inspired snapshot of the place.

My first memories are usually from this place.

After my unsuccessful attempt at peeking into the house on Creekwood Lane, I decided to drive across town and try out the house we lived in while I was in high school. And once again, no one answered the door.

Mom's 40th Birthday

However, this time I knew the neighbors. I walked next door to find Roberta at home. After a brief catch up we headed next door, so I could at least recreate some old pictures in the wide open backyard.

With Rickett and Mathilde, the French exchange student staying with us, in the backyard.

Preparing to jump of the back deck...onto a trampoline. If it were risk-free, I'd recommend everyone try it out.

The jump.

I enjoyed walking through this stranger’s back garden, noticing what they had changed. The trimmed a few trees and built a dock over the pond in back, but other than that, the backyard looked the same. I wish I could have seen inside the house. But then again, if someone knocked on my front door and asked to look around their former dwelling, I think I would kindly refuse them. I’ll just have to wait until the homes are for sale again, if ever.

Jazz, our teacup poodle, walking along the driveway in summer.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to My Old Houses (302nd new thing).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Old Houses (302nd new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

