I’m a TV Star (329th new thing).

July 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

From the beginning of this blog (and probably way before that), I have wanted to act as an extra in some sort of film or TV show. I never actually applied for the position; it seemed as though the casting calls for a large group of background people never happened on my days off. However, on Day Three Hundred Twenty-Nine while working (a freelance thing), I was asked to step in to portray a script supervisor extra. I didn’t even hesitate.

Primping

I was sent to the makeup chair to be powdered and primped. Stephanie added under eye concealer, powder, eyeliner, and a touch of lipstick. She said I didn’t really need blush because I had a naturally rosy glow. I told her it was probably more because I was outside for two hours in the thirty degree morning directing angry gaffers to park further away than they’d like. Or my English heritage.

The clipboard is so official.

My featured scene was a flashback set in the 1980’s. I think I was chosen because one, others turned it down, and two, I was wearing jeggings and slouchy boots (hello, 1988!). I don’t know how I felt about either of theses rationales, but as long as I could accomplish my life long dream of acting in front of the camera, I was thrilled!

My moment of glory passed quickly. Although the little flashback scene I was in will probably be left on the cutting room floor, at least I can officially call myself an AC-TOR.

Ha. Ha. Ha.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m a TV Star (329th new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

