50 Books Challenge (352nd new thing).

January 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

Way back on Day 156 I decided to add a twist to my goal of experiencing 366 new things in a year. I would also attempt to read fifty books in the same time frame. I finally completed the challenge on Day Three Hundred Fifty-Two.

Ironically enough, I read my fiftieth book on my Kindle and it was Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, a novel about the destruction of books. Does the eReader destroy the written word? At this point, I don’t think so. I am reading (and buying) more digital books than ever, and making good use of my library card and Project Gutenberg. And this is mostly for novels, occasionally biographies. Art books, or maybe how-to books, I continue to and will always prefer in print.

I really proud of myself for completing the challenge. I would recommend this goal to anyone. In fact, since my thirtieth birthday last March, I have read over a hundred books. There may have been a point where nearly every second of free time (and some not free) was spent with my nose to my kindle.

Speaking of, I have a book I need to get back to…

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 50 Books Challenge (352nd new thing). at laura turning 30.

meta

